The Commission consists of ten members, five American citizens and five Bulgarian citizens. They represent the major areas of state and public activity: government, education, the arts, and business. The Ambassador of the United States to the Republic of Bulgaria and the Minister of Education and Science of the Republic of Bulgaria serve as honorary chairpersons of the Commission.

Members of The Fulbright Commission Board

US Members

  • Thomas Higgins, CEO, Yatoto
  • Stratsi Kulinski, President, American University in Bulgaria
  • Tammy Paltchikov, Attaché for Educational and Cultural Affairs, US Embassy
  • Brian Stimmler, Counselor for Public Affairs, US Embassy
  • Jeff Warner, Teacher Support Manager, Teach for Bulgaria

Bulgarian Members

  • Kaloyan DamyanovAdvisor to the Minister of Education
  • Professor Ivan DimovDeputy Minister of Education
  • Viktoria Melamed, Minister Plenipotentiary, Eastern Europe and Central Asia Directorate, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • Maria Metodieva, Family Economic Success Officer, Trust for Social Achievement, Sofia
  • Dr. Julia Stefanova, former Executive Director of the Bulgarian Fulbright Commission